What do to during downtime on photo shoots?

Photographers often have quite a bit of down time when on the set, doing a shoot.  One question I get asked fairly often is how do I spend this time when I’m not behind the camera?  Years ago, before the ubiquity of internet access and mobile phones, I used to carry an old fashioned paper book in my camera bag.

Nowadays, things are much better.  First, I usually read directly on my iPhone or iPad, using the Kindle app (iTunes link).  I tend to prefer sci-fi, but have lately gotten into a number of fantastic presidential biographies.

When I don’t feel like reading, but am bored, I visit I Am Bored.  Great site that has all sorts of diversions and distractions when you’ve got nothing to do.  I can usually find something there to waste a little time.

Then, there’s always Reddit.  A community site, that has “subreddits” dedicated to every conceivable topic.  You could waste many hours there.

Of course, there’s always the option to talk to the people around you when you’re bored, but I get enough social interaction during my photo shoots that I often need some quiet time for distraction and reflection.

Fellow photographers, what do you do between shoots when you’re bored?

Leave a comment